The Federation of Farnham and Rickling Primary Schools

Through faith and nurture, we thrive. ‘Life in all its fullness.’ JOHN 10:10

Search Search
Translate Translate

Our Governing Body

What do we do?

A governing body works with the headteacher and the staff at the school to make sure the school provides a good quality education for all its pupils.


Governors do not need specialist skills, just an ability to listen, think through new ideas and decide what is best for the school strategically as part of a team. Governors are not expected to make day to day decisions about how the school is run, this is the job of the headteacher.


The key roles of a governing body are to:

  • Provide strategic leadership for the school, setting the vision, ethos and strategy
  • Holding the executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupil and the effective and efficient performance management of staff.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent

The aim of the governing body is to help Coton CofE (VC) Primary School to provide the best possible education for its pupils and working environment for its staff. The governing body of Coton Primary School is composed of:


  • The Headteacher,
  • 3 Parent Governors (elected by the parents) on a 3 years term,
  • 2 Foundation Governors (appointed by Ely Diocese) on a 4 years term,
  • 1 Local Education Authority Governor (appointed by the LEA) on a 4 years term,
  • 1 Staff Governor (elected by the school staff) on a 3 years term, and,
  • 5 Co-opted Governors appointed due to their specialised skills and expertise on a 3 years term. 


The organisation of your Governing Body


The Governing Board has two committees -

- Personnel and Resources which meets 3x per year

- Resources which meets 2x per year

- 4 full governing body meetings and a planning meeting for the year


Additional committees are established when needed. These committees include :


  • Headteacher’s Performance Management – meet at least twice a year
  • Staff Appeals (meets when needed)
  • Pupil Disciplinary (meets when needed)
  • Staff Disciplinary (meets when needed)
  • Pay Committee – meets at least once a year
  • Budget Committee - meets at least once a year

Working Parties


When a specific (usually time limited, or time critical) project is identified a working party can be formed.  These will consist of governors and representatives of other relevant stakeholders.  Terms of reference, based on the purpose of the working party are drawn up and progress reports are provided to the FGB.


Governor Activities


Governors also organise specific monitoring activities linked to the School Improvement Plan and will visit the school throughout each term to look at progress in these areas. These visits include a variety of activities, according to the area being monitored. They could include; talking to pupils or staff, looking at pupils work and displays or meeting with subject leaders.


Every Governor is part of the Full Governing Body, is actively involved in monitoring activities every term and may be part of any working parties or other committees as needed. The Governing Body work hard to ensure that through their meetings and visits to school they know the school very well.


Formal records of all Governing Body meetings and committee meetings are taken and filed by the Clerk. Once agreed, minutes are then available to view. Should you wish to read any of the Governors' minutes please make a request via the school office.


Essex County Council provides training for new governors as well as specific refresher courses and in house training at Governing Body meetings. 


Further information on becoming a School Governor can be found on the department for education website.


Please direct any additional questions related to School Governance to our Chair of Governors, Helen Christensen at 


Our Governors

An interview with our Chair of Governors

Still image for this video
Pupils from Horse Chestnut class (year 6) at Farnham Primary School asked our chair of governors - Helen Christensen - some rather tricky questions!

A message from our Governor - Liz Spearpoint

Still image for this video